How to Disable New Facebook Photo Viewer

Facebook has started to roll out the new photo viewer to an increasing number of users, which display comments and ads on the right hand side of the photo. The new viewer is something very similar to Google+’s photo viewer and has similar functionalities.

The new layout is simple enough, and unlike the previous version, you don’t have to scroll down to the bottom to read comments or add your comments. The new photo viewer doesn’t seem to be cluttered. Ads will be automatically hidden when there are more comments added to a photo.

Disable New Facebook Photo Viewer

However, if you feel that the older version of the photo viewer was better and want to disable the new photo viewer, or switch back to the previous version, then you can do so by following the steps mentioned below.

Disable New Facebook Photo Viewer

You can’t entirely disable the photo viewer, but you can simply switch back to the older version of the viewer by refreshing the page. The options available are -

  • When a photo opens in the new viewer, simply hit the Function 5 (F5) on your keyboard to refresh the page. This will close the photo viewer and switch back to the old version.
  • Alternatively, you can hold the “Ctrl” button on your keyboard and click on the photos. This way, the photos will be opened in a new tab and the new photo viewer layout will be disabled.

Here’s a video Amit has created showing how you can switch back to the old layout

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>